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Embracing Diversity:

Women’s Rights in the 21st Century Virtual Program
Resource Packet

United States Department of Labor Resource Links:

|I. Federal Medical Leave Employee Handbook

2. Federal Medical Leave Act Fact Sheets

Additional information available: U.S. Department of Labor (dol.gov)

New Jersey Division on Civil Rights Resources:
*Additional languages at njcivilrights.gov
3. Civil Rights and COVID-19: Frequently Asked Questions VWebsite

How to File a Complaint with DCR Fact Sheet

New Jersey Law Against Discrimination Fact Sheet
New Jersey Family Leave Act Poster & Fact Sheet
The Diane B. Allen Equal Pay Act Fact Sheet
COVID-19 Fact Sheet

0 00 N o U b

Gender Discrimination Protections under the LAD Fact Sheet
|0. Breastfeeding/Pregnancy Accommodation Protections under the LAD Fact Sheet

I . Sexual Harassment Employment Protections under the LAD Fact Sheet

New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development Resources:

*Additional languages at mysickdays.nj.gov

I'1. Additional NJDOL Resources Document One Pager
12. Know Your Rights Mini Brochures® English and Spanish

I13. Earned Sick Leave Handouts* English and Spanish

[4. Paid Family & Medical Leave benefits handouts English and Spanish
I5. New Parent Handout on Paid Family & Medical Leave English and Spanish

Rutgers University, Center for Women and Work Resource Links:
6. COVID-19 and the Gender Wage Gap in New Jersey Fact Sheet, March 2022

1 7. Implementation of Paid Family Leave in New |ersey: A Promising Work in Progress Report, Oct. 2021



https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/employeeguide.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla/factsheets
https://www.dol.gov/general/topic/benefits-leave/fmla
http://www.njcivilrights.gov/
http://www.mysickdays.nj.gov/
https://www.nj.gov/labor/assets/PDFs/AD-319%20(12-20)%20Know%20Your%20Rights.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/labor/assets/PDFs/AD-319S%20(12-20)%20Know%20Your%20Rights-Spanish.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/labor/assets/PDFs/MW-569%20(6-21)%20EmployeeSickLvePalmCard.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/labor/assets/PDFs/MW-569S%20(6-21)%20EmployeeSickLvePalmCard.pdf
https://www.myleavebenefits.nj.gov/labor/myleavebenefits/assets/pdfs/PR-160%20(1-22)%20Cash%20Benefits%20Palm%20Card%20ENG.pdf
https://www.myleavebenefits.nj.gov/labor/myleavebenefits/assets/pdfs/PR-160%20(1-22)%20Cash%20Benefits%20Palm%20Card%20SP.pdf
https://www.myleavebenefits.nj.gov/labor/myleavebenefits/assets/pdfs/PR-150%20(1-22)%20New%20Parent%20Handout.pdf
https://www.myleavebenefits.nj.gov/labor/myleavebenefits/assets/pdfs/PR-150S%20New%20Parent%20Handout%20SP%20(2_22)%20.pdf
https://smlr.rutgers.edu/sites/default/files/Documents/Centers/CWW/COVIDWageGap_FactSheet_March2022.pdf
https://smlr.rutgers.edu/sites/default/files/Documents/Implementation_PaidFamilyLeave_Oct2021.pdf?eType=EmailBlastContent&eId=44444444-4444-4444-4444-444444444444

HOW 'I' File a Complaint with the :"
New Jersey Division on Civil Rights .

NJéiilricHTs

ABOUT DCR

The New Jersey Division on Civil Rights (DCR) is the state agency charged with enforcing New Jersey's civil rights laws,
including the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (LAD) and the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA). The mission of
DCRis to protect the people of New Jersey from discrimination and bias-based harassment in employment, housing, and
public accommodations.

The LAD prohibits discrimination based on actual or perceived race, religion, national origin, gender, sexual orientation,
gender identity or expression, disability and other protected characteristics.

This law applies to employment, housing, and places of public accommodation (places open to the public, such as busi-
nesses, restaurants, schools, summer camps, medical providers, government offices and agencies, etc.).

HOW TO FILE A COMPLAINT

1 In order to file a complaint with DCR, you must first submit an intake form. You can submit the intake form:
» Online by creating an account and using the NJ Bias Investigation Access System (NJBIAS) at NJCivilRights.gov

» By calling 1.833.NJDCR4U and asking a DCR receptionist to assist you in filling out the form on the NJ Bias
Investigation Access System (NJBIAS)

2 A DCR investigator will contact you to conduct an intake interview to determine whether DCR has jurisdiction over your
complaint (i.e., whether you are alleging a violation of the LAD that occurred within the past 180 days and if they can
help).

» If so, DCR will prepare a verified complaint form for your signature. Once you sign the verified complaint, you are
known as the Complainant.

3 DCR will serve your complaint on the Respondent—the party that may have violated your civil rights. The Respondent
has a chance to respond with their version of events.

4 DCR then conducts an investigation, which may include:
P Interviews with you, the Respondent, and withesses
» Review of relevant documents, photos, video recordings

» Itis important that you preserve all relevant evidence, including electronically stored evidence such as text and
email messages, until your case has concluded.

At the end of the investigation, DCR will determine whether there is probable cause to believe a violation of the law occurred.

DISPUTE RESOLUTION

DCR also offers free dispute resolution services to parties who wish to resolve the complaint on mutually agreeable terms.
A voluntary resolution can be negotiated at any time during the complaint or investigation process.

noruine 1.833.NJDCR4U seavice 111 ewai. NJDCR4U@NICivilRights.gov

www.NJCivilRights.gov #NJCivilRights



The New Jersey Law
Against Discrimination

1

The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (LAD) prohibits discrimination and harassment
based on actual or perceived race, religion, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender
identity or expression, disability, and other protected characteristics. The law applies in employment,
housing, and places of public accommodation (generally, places open to the public, including
businesses, restaurants, schools, summer camps, medical providers, etc.).

The anti-discrimination provisions mean that an employer cannot fire someone, pay someone
less money, or refuse to hire or promote someone because of their race. Similarly, a housing provider
cannot refuse to rent an apartment to a couple because of their sexual orientation. And a place of
public accommodation cannot refuse service to someone because of their religion.

The LAD also prohibits bias-based harassment. That means if someone is being subjected to bias-
based harassment that creates a hostile environment, an employer, housing provider, or place of public
accommodation must take reasonable steps to stop the harassment if they knew or should have known
about it. That includes harassment between coworkers, tenants, or patrons, not just harassment by a
landlord or by a supervisor at work. The LAD also prohibits “quid pro quo” sexual harassment—where

a person in a position of power demands sex or sexual favors in exchange for favorable treatment,
such as continued employment or a promotion.

The LAD prohibits retaliation against a person for complaining about discrimination or bias-
based harassment, or otherwise exercising or attempting to exercise their rights under the law.
For example, an employer cannot fire someone for reporting sexual harassment to human
resources. And a housing provider cannot evict someone for reporting housing
discrimination to DCR.

The New Jersey Division on Civil Rights (DCR) enforces the LAD and is tasked with preventing
and eliminating discrimination and bias-based harassment in New Jersey. Anyone who believes
their rights under the LAD have been violated may file a complaint with DCR within

180 days of the incident.

To find out more or to file a complaint, go to or call

NJ Office of the Attorney General

DIVISION ON .E : E
NJCivilRights.gov b NJC'V'LR'GHTS_%

01/12/21



The New Jersey Famlly Leave Act (NJFLA)

Entitles Certain Employees to Take up to 12 Weeks of Family Leave in a 24-month Period Without Losing Their Jobs

Employers Generally Must Provide NJFLA Leave if
» The EMPLOYER has at least 30 employees worldwide OR is a government entity, regardless of size;

» The EMPLOYEE has worked for that employer for at least 1 year, AND has worked at least 1,000 hours in the past 12 months; and
» The LEAVE is being taken to: » Care for or bond with a child within 1 year of the child’s birth or placement for adoption or foster care;

Nof@,cllhall the f\[/J f;ﬂ”“y L&/’a\’e Act dOG,S ”7; » Care for a family member, or someone who is the equivalent of family, who has a serious health condition, or who has been isolated
el S or quarantined because of suspected exposure to a communicable disease (including COVID-19) during a state of emergency; or

Certain employees may be eligible for » Provide required care or treatment for a child during a state of emergency if their school or place of care is closed due to an
additional leave under the federal Family and

Medical leave/Act. epidemic of a communicable disease (including COVID-19) or other public health emergency.

If you think you have experienced discrimination, contact the Djvision on Civil nghtS
1-833-NJDCR4U | NJCivilRights.gov / 4

711 (Relay Service) #CivilRightsNJ

‘ DIVISION ON
sNJCIVILRIGHTS

@CivilRightsNJ  #CivilRightsNJ #StopTheHate

All employers, employment agencies, and labor organizations shall display this official poster in places easily visible to all employees and applicants for employment. N.J.A.C. 13:8-2.2.



Job-Protected Family Leave

1

Under the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA), if you work for a state or local government
agency, or a company or organization with 30 or more employees worldwide, and you have been
employed by the company for at least 1 year (and have worked at least 1,000 hours in the past 12
months), you generally can take up to 12 weeks of job-protected leave during any 24-month period:

e To care for or bond with a child, as long as the leave begins within 1 year of the child’s
birth or placement for adoption or foster care;

e To care for a family member, or someone who is the equivalent of family, with a
serious health condition (including a diagnosis of COVID-19), or who has been isolated
or quarantined because of suspected exposure to a communicable disease (including
COVID-19) during a state of emergency; or

e To provide required care or treatment for a child during a state of emergency if their school
or place of care is closed by order of a public official due to an epidemic of a communicable
disease (including COVID-19) or other public health emergency.

You can take a consecutive block of up to 12 weeks of leave or you can take leave on an
intermittent or reduced schedule.

NJFLA leave is not the same as the Federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), so you will not

use up NJFLA leave while taking leave for your own serious medical condition under the FMLA.
In some situations, you therefore may be entitled to take up to 12 weeks of FMLA leave for your
own condition and 12 weeks of NJFLA leave to care for a family member, in a single 12-month period.

If you are pregnant or just had a baby, you can take up to 12 weeks for pregnancy and
recovery from childbirth under the FMLA, and you can then take an additional 12 weeks of
NJFLA leave to bond with or care for your baby after your doctor certifies you are fit to return to
work or you have exhausted your FMLA leave (whichever is earlier). Any parent may take leave under
the NJFLA to bond with or care for a newborn or a child just placed for adoption or foster care.

When you return to work, you are generally entitled to return to the same position
you held before leave, and your employer may not retaliate against you because you took
or attempted to take leave under the NJFLA.

To find out more or to file a complaint, go to or call

NJ Office of the Attorney General

DIVISION ON .E : E
NJCivilRights.gov b NJC'V'LR'GHTS_%

01/13/21
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The Diane B. Allen
Equal Pay Act

1 In 2018, Governor Phil Murphy signed into law the Diane B. Allen Equal Pay Act to end
pay discrimination based on race, sex, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity or
expression, age, disability, and other protected characteristics in New Jersey, by expanding upon
the equal pay protections that already existed under the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination.

2 The Equal Pay Act generally prohibits an employer from paying any employee who is a
member of a protected class less than what it pays an employee who is not a member of that
protected class for “substantially similar work.” Whether work is substantially similar is viewed
as a composite of skill, effort, and responsibility.

3 All forms of compensation are covered by the Equal Pay Act, including salary, bonuses,
health benefits, and pension plan contributions. Comparisons of wage rates are across all of an
employer’s operations or facilities. And an employer cannot reduce the rate of compensation of
any employee in order to comply with Equal Pay Act.

4 A separate violation of the Equal Pay Act occurs each time you are paid disparate wages
(i.e., each time you receive a paycheck paying you lower wages for substantially similar work).
If you file a complaint with the Division on Civil Rights it will be considered timely if it is filed
within 180 days of the most recent discriminatory paycheck; lawsuits must be filed in court
within two years of the most recent discriminatory paycheck.

5 The Equal Pay Act prohibits your employer from retaliating against you for requesting salary
information from a coworker, or from discussing with or disclosing such information to any
coworker, lawyer, or government agency. Your employer also cannot retaliate against you for
exercising or attempting to exercise any other rights under the Law Against Discrimination.

To find out more or to file a complaint, go to NJCivilRights.gov or call 1.833.NJDCR4U

NJ Office of the Attorney General ‘ E‘i'vl"‘f'kl G HT S E E
N J C ivi | Ri g htS . g OV @CivilRightsNJ  #CivilRightsNJ  #StandUpAgainstHate E

04/09/21




C|V|I Rights and COVID-19

The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (LAD) protects you from discrimination and
harassment based on actual or perceived race, national origin, religion, disability, and other
protected characteristics in employment, housmg, and places of public accommodation
(places open to the public, including businesses, schools, medical providers, etc.), including
when the conduct at issue is related to COVID-19.

2 The LAD's protections in employment mean, for example, that your employer cannot fire
you because you coughed at work and they perceived you to have COVID-19. And if you have

east-Asian heritage and a coworker repeatedly harasses you by calling this “the Chinese virus”
or claiming that Chinese people “caused” COVID-19 or were responsible for spreading it, your
employer must take reasonable action to stop the harassment if they knew or should have
known about it. Finally, if your employer lays off workers because of COVID-19, they cannot
select employees to lay off based on race, national origin, religion, age, disability,
or any other LAD-protected characteristic.

3 Places of public accommodation, like stores and medical facilities, cannot discriminate

based on race, disability, religion, gender identity or expression, or other LAD-protected
characteristics in their provision of services. For example, it is unlawful for a medical facility to
provide different levels of COVID-19 testing or treatment to Black and white patients because
of their race. In addition, the LAD requires places of public accommodation to provide reasonable
accommodations to patrons with a disability unless doing so would be an undue burden on
their operations. For a grocery store or pharmacy, that means making a contact-free method
of obtaining goods available to a person who cannot wear a mask because of a disability.
For other places of public accommodation, likes gyms and movie theaters, if there is no reasonable
accommodation that the establishment can provide that would mitigate the risk of COVID-19
transmission to its staff and to other patrons and not be an undue burden on its operations, then it
can deny entry to people who cannot wear masks because of a disability.

4 The prohibition on discrimination and bias-based harassment in housing means, for example,

that a landlord cannot ask a tenant to move out because they have COVID-19 or because the

landlord believes they have COVID-19. Similarly, a landlord cannot refuse to rent a property to you
because you are Jewish and they say that Jewish people are responsible for spreading COVID-1g9.

5 You may be able to take job-protected leave under the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA)
to care for a family member, or someone who is the equivalent of family, who has a serious health
condition, including a diagnosis of COVID-19, or who has been isolated or quarantined because of
suspected exposure to COVID-19. You may also be eligible to take job-protected leave to care for
your child if their school or place of care was ordered closed due to COVID-1g9.

To find out more or to file a complaint, go to NJCivilRights.gov or call 1.833.NJDCR4U

NJ Office of the Attorney General ‘ E‘i'vl"‘f'kl G HT S E E
N J C ivi | Ri g htS . g OV @CivilRightsNJ  #CivilRightsNJ  #StandUpAgainstHate E
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Gender Discrimination

1 The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (LAD) prohibits discrimination and
harassment in employment, housing, and places of public accommodation (places that are
generally open to the public), based on actual or perceived gender. Gender discrimination
includes discrimination based on gender stereotypes, gender identity or expression, or
pregnancy or breastfeeding status. This means that people of all genders—including
female, male, intersex, gender non-conforming, or gender non-binary individuals—
must be treated equally at work, in housing, and in places open to the public.

2 An employer may not make employment decisions like hiring or firing, promotions,
pay, or benefits based on actual or perceived gender or based on gender stereotypes.
For example, an employer cannot differentiate between employees of different genders
in its provisions for parental leave based on stereotypes about who is primarily
responsible for childcare.

3 A landlord cannot refuse to lease, charge higher rent, offer different amenities,
or refuse repairs based on a tenant’s gender. And a place of public accommodation
cannot refuse service or offer a different degree of service or care based on gender.

4 The LAD also prohibits harassment based on gender in a way that creates a hostile
environment. If an employer, housing provider, or place of public accommodation knows
or should know about such harassment, they must take action to stop it. Bias-based
gender harassment can include unwelcome, offensive conduct because of a person’s
gender, such as a coworker constantly making disparaging remarks about women. It can
also include sexual harassment—hostile, demeaning, or intimidating comments; offensive
gestures; non-consensual sexual contact; and unwanted sexually-suggestive language.

5 An employer, landlord, or place of public accommodation cannot retaliate against
a person for exercising or attempting to exercise these or any other rights under the LAD.

To find out more or to file a complaint, go to or call

NJ Office of the Attorney General ﬂ NJ E‘i'vl"‘f'kl GHT S E E
N J C ivi | Ri g htS . g OV @CivilRightsNJ  #CivilRightsNJ #StandUpAgainstHate E

04/09/21



https://www.njoag.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/fact_LGBTQI_General.pdf
https://www.njoag.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/fact_BRST.pdf
https://www.njoag.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/fact_EqualPay.pdf
https://www.njoag.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/fact_SH.pdf

Accommodations
for Prefgnancy and

Breastfeeding at Work

1 The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (LAD) requires your employer to
grant you a reasonable accommodation for pregnancy, childbirth, related medical
conditions, and breastfeeding to enable you to continue working while maintaining a
healthy pregnancy or return to work after giving birth. The LAD is more protective than
the federal Pregnancy Discrimination Act in this regard.

2 If you are pregnant, your employer must grant you a reasonable accommodation
recommended by your doctor, including bathroom breaks, water breaks, rest breaks,
assistance with manual labor, job restructuring, modified work schedules, and a
temporary transfer to less strenuous or hazardous work, unless your employer can
show that doing so would be an undue hardship on its operations.

3 If you are breastfeeding, your employer must grant you reasonable break time
each day, and a suitable private place (other than a toilet stall) in which to express
breast milk, unless your employer can show that doing so would be an undue
hardship on its operations.

4 Factors to be considered in whether an accommodation would be an undue hardship
include the overall size of your employer’s business with respect to employees, facilities,
and budget; the nature and cost of the accommodation needed; and the extent to which
the accommodation would involve waiver of an essential requirement of your job.

5 Your employer may not in any way penalize you or retaliate against you
for requesting or using an accommodation for pregnancy or breastfeeding.

To find out more or to file a complaint, go to NJCivilRights.gov or call 1.833.NJDCR4U

NJ Office of the Attorney General ‘ NJ E‘i'vl"‘f'kl GHT S %
N J C ivi | Ri g htS . g OV @CivilRightsNJ  #CivilRightsNJ  #StandUpAgainstHate E

04/09/21




Protections from Sexual
Harassment in Employment
Under New Jersey Law

1 The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (LAD) prohibits sexual harassment, a form
of gender-based discrimination, in employment. This means that you have the right to be free
from sexual harassment at work no matter the type or size of your employer, what job you do,
or what language you speak. Sexual harassment can include verbal harassment, such as obscene
language or demeaning comments, whether in person, over the phone, or online; physical
harassment, such as unwanted touching; or visual harassment, such as displaying or
emailing pornographic images, cartoons, or drawings.

2 There are two types of unlawful sexual harassment in the workplace: quid pro quo and hostile
work environment. Quid pro quo harassment is when a benefit like a promotion is conditioned
on sexual favors, or when an adverse action like being fired is threatened if you refuse a sexual
advance. A hostile work environment exists when you are subjected to unwanted harassing
conduct based on gender in the workplace that is severe or pervasive enough to create
a work environment that is intimidating, hostile, or offensive.

3 An employer must take action to stop sexual harassment if it knows or should have known
about it. This is true regardless of whether the person engaging in the harassing conductis a
supervisor, a colleague, or a third party that you interact with at work (like a patron, client, or
vendor). So, for example, if a co-worker discusses your body in graphic detail in front of your
supervisor, or if you report that a patron is subjecting you to unwanted sexual touching,
your employer must take action.

4 Federal law also protects you from sexual harassment at work, but the LAD provides
two key additional protections. First, federal law applies only to employers with fifteen or
more employees, while the LAD applies to all employers in New Jersey, regardless of size.
Second, the LAD also protects independent contractors from sexual harassment, while
federal law only protects those workers who are legally classified as employees.

5 The LAD prohibits an employer from retaliating against you for objecting to sexual
harassment, filing a sexual harassment complaint, or for exercising or attempting to
exercise any other rights under the law.

To find out more or to file a complaint, go to or call

NJ Office of the Attorney General ﬂ NJ E‘i'vl"‘f'kl GHT S E E
N J C ivi | Ri g htS . g OV @CivilRightsNJ  #CivilRightsNJ #StandUpAgainstHate E

02/24/21




WORKERS' RIGHTS
RESOURCES

TO P NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF LABOR &
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT (NJDOL) ,

NJDOL employees do not ask about immigration or citizenship and serve all workers regardless of their
status. The Department will keep your information private, and will not share it with any federal immigration
agency, unless required by an Open Public Records Act request, court order, or subpoena.

NJDOL HOMEPAGE: nj.gov/labor

Work Rights

+ myworkrights.nj.gov: Overview of NJ work rights, including information on wage theft, minimum wage,
misclassification, protections for immigrants, and how to file a complaint

* mysickdays.nj.gov: Information on NJ’s Earned Sick Leave law

+ nj.gov/labor/safetyandhealth: Information on state-provided workplace health and safety programs,
including recourse for public employees, training and other resources

Benefits

* myleavebenefits.nj.gov: Learn about NJ Paid Family and Medical Leave benefits and apply online
(Social Security Number required)

* myunemployment.nj.gov: Learn about unemployment and apply online
* nj.gov/labor/workerscompensation: Information on NJ's Workers’ Compensation Insurance

Career Services

* nj.gov/labor/career-services: Resume writing guidance, interviewing assistance, re-employment
orientation, training, apprenticeships, and opportunities for workers with disabilities

COVID-19 Resources
* nj.gov/labor/covidbenefits: Information about COVID-19 Worker Benefits and Protections
+ nj.gov/labor/covidsafety: Information on Workplace Health and Safety During COVID-19

NJDOL Grant Programs

+ nj.gov/labor/grants: Information for organizations (including worker advocacy groups) on NJDOL
grant opportunities

NJ.GOV/LABOR

UPDATED: 4/18/2022


http://nj.gov/labor
https://www.nj.gov/labor/worker-protections/myworkrights/
https://www.nj.gov/labor/worker-protections/earnedsick/
http://nj.gov/labor/safetyandhealth
http://myleavebenefits.nj.gov
http://myunemployment.nj.gov
http://nj.gov/labor/workerscompensation
http://nj.gov/labor/career-services
http://nj.gov/labor/covidbenefits
http://nj.gov/labor/covidsafety
http://nj.gov/labor/grants
http://nj.gov/labor

NJ’S Minimum Wage:

NJ has enacted a law to phase in
a $15 minimum wage*

EMPLOYERS |
DATE Seasonal &
Most Small**  Agricultural
Jan. 1, 2020 $N $10.30 $10.30
Jan. 1, 2022 $13 $11.90 $10.90
S| s | s
Jan. 1, 2024 $15 $13.50 $12.50

*Different cash wage and phase-in times apply to
tipped workers.

**Fewer than 6 employees
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Paid Family & Medical Leave
for NJ Workers

Do you need longer term paid leave for
pregnancy, childbirth, illness/injury, or to
care for a loved one?

You may qualify for Temporary Disability or
Family Leave Benefits — most NJ workers do.

Visit myleavebenefits.nj.gov

S

AD-319 (12/20)

Paid Family & Medical Leave
for NJ Workers

Do you need longer term paid leave for
pregnancy, childbirth, illness/injury, or to
care for a loved one?

You may qualify for Temporary Disability or
Family Leave Benefits — most NJ workers do.

Visit myleavebenefits.nj.gov

S

AD-319 (12/20)
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myworkrights.nj.gov
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You Have the Right to be Paid

For all hours worked and no less than the
State minimum wage

Are you eligible for overtime?
You are owed 1.5 times your hourly rate of pay
for hours worked over 40 hours/week.

Are you working on a publicly funded
construction project, such as a school?
The contractor must pay you the prevailing wage
for a public works job.

Are you an independent contractor?

You could be misclassified, and denied the right
to unemployment, disability, family leave,
minimum wage, equal pay and more.

Employers who break the law can face
fines and penalties.

You Have the Right to be Paid

For all hours worked and no less than the
State minimum wage

Are you eligible for overtime?
You are owed 1.5 times your hourly rate of pay
for hours worked over 40 hours/week.

Are you working on a publicly funded
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for a public works job.
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Paid Sick Time is the Law:

You have the right to care for yourself
and loved ones
—

» Employers must provide 1 hour of paid sick

leave for every 30 hours you work, up to 40
hours a year.

It's against the law for employers to
retaliate against you for using your sick leave.

Use Paid Sick Leave for physical or mental
health, to cope with sexual or domestic
violence, your child’s school appointments
and more.

Learn more at mysickdays.nj.gov

Paid Sick Time is the Law:

You have the right to care for yourself
and loved ones
—

» Employers must provide 1 hour of paid sick

leave for every 30 hours you work, up to 40
hours a year.
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retaliate against you for using your sick leave.

Use Paid Sick Leave for physical or mental
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and more.
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If You Believe Your Rights
Are Being Violated

Minimum Wage * Overtime
Earned Sick Leave ¢ Child Labor
Farmworkers

Make a complaint at myworkrights.nj.gov

» Keep track of your work hours
* Keep records of your pay

* Record your employer’s contact
information

The NJ Department of Labor applies NJ labor laws without
consideration to the immigration status of the worker. The
Department will keep your information private, and will
not share it with any federal immigration agency, unless
required by an Open Public Records Act request, court
order, or subpoena.
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BENEFITS & PROTECTIONS FOR
NEW & EXPECTING PARENTS

WHO WORK IN NJ

CASH BENEFITS: NJ TEMPORARY DISABILITY AND FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE
JOB PROTECTION: FEDERAL AND STATE LAWS

DURING MY PREGNANCY 6 WHILE BONDING WITH MY BABY
& RECOVERY
9 How to Receive Benefits e How to Receive Benefits
Temporary Disability Insurance Family Leave Insurance
Apply at: myleavebenefits.nj.gov/maternity Apply at: myleavebenefits.nj.gov/maternity
Typically provides 10-12 weeks of cash benefits so Provides up to 12 weeks of cash benefits so you
you can stop working to care for yourself before and can stop working to bond with your new child

after childbirth

Eligibility details in next section \
Parents who gave birth can transition directly to bonding benefits

@/ How to Protect My Job @/ How to Protect My Job

Eligibility details in next section

Federal Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA) NJ Family Leave Act (NJFLA)

Enforced by US Department of Labor: Enforced by NJ Division on Civil Rights:
dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla njcivilrights.gov

Up to 12 weeks of unpaid job-protected leave to care Up to 12 weeks of job-protected leave to bond with
for yourself before and after childbirth and to bond your new child

with your new child

Take up to 12 weeks of FMLA for pregnancy/recovery and/or a related serious health \
condition + up to 12 weeks of NJFLA for bonding = up to 24 weeks of job protection
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9 HOW TO RECEIVE BENEFITS

DURING MY PREGNANCY 6 WHILE BONDING WITH MY BABY
& RECOVERY
Typically 4 weeks and 6-8 weeks OPTION #1 take all 12 weeks at once
BEFORE DUE DATE AFTER DELIVERY I
OPTION #2 take max 56 days (8 weeks) in parts:
DELIVERY I N

Temporary Disability Insurance Family Leave Insurance
Birthing parents apply at: e Benefits to be used in baby’s first year; for non-birth
myleavebenefits.nj.gov/maternity parents too
Medical provider determines length e Adoptive and foster parents eligible within a year

* Typically 4 weeks before due date, plus 6 weeks of placement

after for vaginal birth or 8 weeks for C-section e Non-birth parents apply for bonding benefits online at:

e Leave could be longer if you have serious myleavebenefits.nj.gov/worker/fli

complications or you're quarantined due to

a public health emergency \
Parents who gave birth can transition directly to bonding benefits

MOST NJ EMPLOYEES QUALIFY

e For 2022, you must have earned at least $12,000 total or $240 weekly for 20 weeks total in employment in the 18 months prior to the start of
your benefit claim.

e Apply online at myleavebenefits.nj.gov and start your application up to 60 days before your leave.

Receive 85% of your average wages, up to $993/week
e Learn about how you'll be paid at myleavebenefits.nj.gov/yourpayment.

e |t can take 2-6 weeks to approve a claim and pay benefits once we have a complete application — including medical forms. Follow up with your
medical provider to ensure timely processing.

Employers must participate in these public insurance programs and deduct payroll taxes for employees working in NJ, or provide a private insurance
plan. The federal government is not required to participate in either program. For local governments (for ex., counties, municipalities and school
districts), Family Leave Insurance is required but Temporary Disability is optional. Generally, employees that work a significant amount of time
outside of NJ are not covered, but are encouraged to apply to find out. For important information on notifying your employer, application tips, and
more, see myleavebenefits.nj.gov. For private insurance plans, contact your employer to learn more about your coverage and get a leave application.

PAGE 2 OF 4


http://myleavebenefits.nj.gov/worker/fli
http://myleavebenefits.nj.gov/maternity
http://myleavebenefits.nj.gov
http://myleavebenefits.nj.gov
http://www.myleavebenefits.nj.gov/yourpayment

@ HOW TO PROTECT MY JOB

DURING MY PREGNANCY 6 WHILE BONDING WITH MY BABY
& RECOVERY
Federal Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA) NJ Family Leave Act (NJFLA)
Enforced by US Department of Labor: Enforced by NJ Division on Civil Rights:
dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla njcivilrights.gov
Up to 12 weeks of job-protected leave to care for Up to 12 weeks of job-protected leave to bond with your
yourself before and after childbirth if new child within a year of birth or placement if
e Your employer has at least 50 employees within e Your employer has at least 30 employees worldwide,
75 miles of your worksite or is a government entity or is a government entity, regardless of size
e You've worked there for at least 12 months e You've worked there for at least 1 year
e You've worked at least 1,250 hours in past 12 e You've worked at least 1,000 hours in past
months 12 months
e You must give your employer 30 days’ notice if e You generally must give your employer 30 days’
need for leave is foreseeable notice if need for leave is foreseeable
v~ all these requirements must be met or your v’ all these requirements must be met or your
employer is not required to hold your job for you employer is not required to hold your job for you

* FMLA leave can also be taken to bond with a new Contact employer or NJ Division on Civil Rights with
child but it then runs concurrently with NJFLA leave NJFLA questions:

Contact employer or USDOL with FMLA questions: NJ Division on Civil Rights
973-648-2700

US Department of Labor (USDOL) njcivilrights.gov

866-487-9243
dol.gov/whd/fmla

Take up to 12 weeks of FMLA for pregnancy/recovery and/or a related serious health \
condition + up to 12 weeks of NJFLA for bonding = up to 24 weeks of job protection
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@ TRANSITION BETWEEN CASH BENEFITS:

UNEMPLOYMENT, PREGNANCY/CHILDBIRTH RECOVERY & BONDING

Unemployed? You can transition from unemployment benefits to pregnancy/recovery benefits or bonding benefits.
Learn more: myleavebenefits.nj.gov/unemployed.

Laid off while receiving pregnancy/recovery or bonding benefits? You can apply for unemployment or reopen your claim.
See myunemployment.nj.gov.

@ PREGNANCY & BREASTFEEDING RIGHTS

e NJ workers are entitled to certain pregnancy and breastfeeding protections, including reasonable accommodations to continue working while
pregnant or breastfeeding, and breaktime in a private location other than a bathroom to express breast milk at work.

e Employers cannot retaliate against you for requesting or using an accommodation for pregnancy or breastfeeding.
e These laws are enforced by the NJ Division on Civil Rights. Learn more: njcivilrights.gov.

ANSWERS TO YOUR QUESTIONS CAN BE FOUND AT:
my LeaveBenefitS.nj.gov

For further assistance

T: 609-292-7060 F: 609-984-4138 N Temporary Disability and Family Leave Insurance
MONDAY-FRIDAY M PO Box 387 | Trenton | NJ | 08625

8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Please note: This handout is intended to give general information about benefits and rights available to New Jersey workers. Eligibility determinations for each benefit or protection are
made in accordance with the law.

NJ.GOV/LABOR
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DON'T WORRY
YOU'RE COVERED!

mysickdays.nj.gov
NJ Workers

Now have the right to paid sick time. Full-time, part-time and

temporary workers are eligible under the law.

Use sick time to care for yourself or a family member - the definition
of family is generous:

e for physical/mental iliness or wellness care

e to get the COVID-19 vaccine and/or recover from side effects

e to cope with domestic or sexual violence

¢ to attend a meeting at your child's school

Workers earn 1 hour of sick leave for every 30
hours they work, up to 40 hours per year.

It's against the law for your employer to punish you for using sick leave
you've earned, or to make you find a replacement for your shift. Your
employer may not ask for documentation unless it's more than 3 days
in arow.

To learn more, visit mysickdays.nj.gov

For information on other rights and benefits, visit nj.gov/labor
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LEARN MORE AT: )
myLeaveBenefits.njgov

CASH BENEFITS

TO CARE FOR YOURSELF
AND LOVED ONES

MOST NJ WORKERS ARE COVERED

and your job may be protected under federal and/or state law.

When you have to stop working to:

» Care for your own or a loved one’s physical or mental health
(including COVID-19)

 Care for yourself during pregnancy and childbirth recovery
* Bond with a new child
» Cope with domestic or sexual violence

Receive 85% of your average weekly wages, up to $993 per
week (2022).

LEARN MORE about eligibility requirements and job protection
laws, and apply online for cash benefits at:

mylLeaveBenefitS.n.gov
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