
New Jersey 
Victims of Crime Compensation Office

The New Jersey Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO) provides compensation to certain 
victims of crime for some of the expenses they incur as a result of their victimization. The following 
is a list of frequently asked questions (FAQ’s) and useful information about VCCO’s services:
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Who is eligible to file a VCCO claim?
People who are eligible include crime victims, their family 
members, dependents of victims, the estate of the victims, guardians 
of victims, and the authorized agent of the victims’ dependents. 
Additionally, any person who paid for services on behalf of a victim 
may file for reimbursement under a victim’s claim.

How do I file a VCCO claim?
To file a claim, you need to complete the online VCCO claim 
application at www.njvictims.org. Include in your claim police 
reports and all documentation supporting the financial loss or 
financial needs if possible. VCCO will contact you once your 
application is received.

Can I still file a claim if the suspect  
has not been arrested or if the accused  
person is acquitted at trial?
Yes. Compensation may be made whether or not a person is 
prosecuted or found guilty of the crime.

What are the eligibility criteria?
To be compensated, all of the following must be met:
••	The crime must have been committed in the State of N.J., 
••	It must have been reported to law enforcement  

within 9 months of the crime, filing of a restraining  
order or sexual violence protective order, and 

••	The VCCO application must be filed  
within 5 years of the crime date.

Have there been any recent changes  
to VCCO eligibility and benefits?
Yes, there have been several important updates: 
••	An increase in the amount of reimbursement  

for attorney representation 
••	Limited compensation for homicide cases where the victim 

contributed to their own death, new types of benefits specific to 
Human Trafficking victims, and new crime types (Disorderly 
Persons, Harassment, and Criminal Mischief).

Who determines my claim eligibility?	
VCCO is responsible for determining the eligibility of all claims 
in compliance with its governing law. Law enforcement does not 
determine a victim’s eligibility for VCCO assistance. They are only 
required to inform all victims of the availability of VCCO services. 

What benefits can VCCO assist with?
Benefits include: medical and counseling related expenses, loss of 
earnings, loss of support, funeral expenses, relocation assistance 
for crime related safety concerns, child care and domestic help, 
transportation assistance for funeral and attendance, and court 
attendance or medical appointments. 

Is the VCCO a crisis intervention agency?
No. VCCO’s primary responsibility to is provide compensation to 
victims. As a victim service agency, it does provide information to 
all victims in need about available resources, such as shelters, legal 
services, counseling services (such as trauma recovery), but does 
not itself provide these services.

Is victim compensation taxable?
According to IRS Revenue Ruling 74-74, victim compensation is 
not taxable to victims who receive it.

Does VCCO assist victims who are undocumented?
Yes. VCCO benefits are available to victims of compensable crimes, 
regardless of immigration status. Victims who apply are only 
required to provide supporting documentation related to their claim. 

Does VCCO deny claims if the applicant  
has open municipal charges or warrants?
No, unless the open charge or warrant is directly related to the 
crime. If there is an active superior court warrant, VCCO will 
close the case, although it may be reopened at a later time. 

How does VCCO disperse payments?
VCCO provides payment only after other resources – like 
insurance – are exhausted. VCCO can reimburse victims for 
services already paid or payment can be submitted directly to a 
vendor or service provider registered with NJSTART.

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) 


