The Open Public Records Act (OPRA) A is the State statute that replaces the old “Right to Know Law” which governs the public’s
access to government records in New Jersey. The law is compiled in the statutes as N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1 et seq.
General OPRA Information
1. State Law requires that in order to request access to government records, you must complete, sign and date a written request for access and deliver it in person or by mail during regular business hours to the appropriate custodian of the record requested. You may also complete and submit a web enabled version of this request form at www.nj.gov/opra. OAG-L&PS will not accept submission of a written request for access by fax or email. Your request is not considered filed until the written request has been received by the appropriate custodian of the record requested. If you submit a written request to any other officer or employee of OAG-L&PS, that officer or employee does not have the authority to accept your request on behalf of OAG-L&PS and you will be directed to the appropriate division custodian. Additional information, custodian email addresses and agency information links can be found at the above site.
2. If you 1) submit a request for access to government records to someone other than the appropriate custodian; or 2) do not complete a written request containing the information required in this form; or 3) make a request for access by telephone or fax, the Open Public Records Act and its deadlines, restrictions and remedies will not apply to your request.
3. The fees for duplication of a government record in printed form are listed on the front of this form. We will notify you of any special charges, special service charges or other additional charges authorized by State law or regulation before processing your request. Payment shall be made by cash, check or money order payable to the State of New Jersey.
4. Requests with estimated fees exceeding $25 may require a 50% deposit. Anonymous requests, when permitted, require a deposit of 100% of estimated fees. You agree to pay the balance due upon delivery of the records.
5. By State Law, a custodian must deny access to a person who is convicted of an indictable offense in New Jersey, any other state, or the United States, who is seeking government records containing personal information pertaining to the person’s victim or the victim’s family.
6. By law, OAG-L&PS must notify you that it grants or denies a request for access to government records within 7 business days after the custodian of the record requested receives the request, provided that the record is currently available and not in storage or archived. If the record requested is not currently available or is in storage or archived, the custodian will advise you within 7 business days when the record can be made available and the estimated cost. You may agree with the custodian to extend the time for granting or denying your request or making records available.
7. You may be denied access to a government record if your request would substantially disrupt agency operations and the custodian is unable to reach a reasonable solution with you.
8. If OAG-L&PS is unable to comply with your request for access to a government record, the custodian will indicate the reasons for denial in writing and send you a signed and dated copy.
9. Except as otherwise provided by law or by agreement with the requestor, if the custodian of the record requested fails to respond to you within 7 business days of receiving a written, signed request for access, the failure to respond will be considered a denial of your request.
10. If your request for access to a government record has been denied or unfilled within the time permitted by law, you have a right to challenge the decision by OAG-L&PS to deny access. At your option, you may either file a complaint in writing with the Government Records Council (GRC) located in the Department of Community Affairs or institute a proceeding in the Superior Court of New Jersey. You may contact the GRC at 866-850-0511(toll free) or 609-292-6830 or online at www.nj.gov/grc
11. Information provided on this form may be subject to disclosure under the Open Public Records Act.
Records Custodian Contact Information for each OAG-L&PS Agency
- Office of the Attorney General 609-984-6998
- Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control : 609-984-2830
- Division on Civil Rights 862-350-5121
- Division of Consumer Affairs 973-424-8111
- Division of Criminal Justice 609-984-6500
- Division of Gaming Enforcement 609-633-7158
- Division of Highway Traffic Safety 609-633-9222
- Office of Homeland Security and Preparedness 609-584-4079
- Division of Law 609-984-4943
- Racing Commission 609-292-0613
- Division of State Police 609-882-2000 ext. 6585
- Election Law Enforcement Commission 609-292-8700
- Juvenile Justice Commission 609-292-2288
- State Ethics Commission 609-292-1892
Note: Mailing and Street Addresses are on the back of the OAG-L&PS specific form.