Awards Information 2024

2024 National Crime Victim's Rights Week

National Crime Victims’ Rights Week

Awards Information


Registration and Networking
9:15AM – 10:00AM

Ceremony and Presentation of Awards
Remarks from Attorney General Matthew J. Platkin 10:00AM – 12:00PM

Concurrent Afternoon Workshops
12:20PM – 2:30PM

2024 OAG Excellence Awards for Victims’ Justice
Nomination Deadline: April 2, 2024

Crime Victims’ Rights Award
The Crime Victims’ Rights Award reflects the 2024 National Crime Victims’ Rights Week theme: How would you help? Options, services, and hope for crime survivors.” This award will be presented to an individual or agency whose actions capture the spirit of the theme – an individual who assisted a victim in an unconventional or innovative way, or from a field that traditionally is not connected to the criminal justice process or victim services.  This award will recognize that help comes on many different ways and shapes, and that the true benefit to victims is responding to their unique needs for healing.

Endurance Award
This award honors a Victim Witness Coordinator, Advocate, and/or staff member who consistently sets the standard for excellence by going above and beyond to assist victims and prosecution teams. This award does not require decades of service, but recognizes one’s perseverance in providing quality assistance to victims.

 Gladiator Award
This award recognizes an Assistant Prosecutor or Detective who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment and zeal to ensure that the criminal justice system treats victims with compassion and dignity during the prosecution process.

 Ronald W. Reagan Award
This award honors President Ronald W. Reagan for his compassion, vision and commitment to crime victims’ rights. President Reagan placed victims’ rights in the forefront of the national agenda during his administration, which resulted in the creation of National Crime Victims’ Rights Week, the President’s Task Force on Victims of Crime, the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, the Victims of Crime Act of 1984 (VOCA), and countless other initiatives. This Award will be presented to an individual or agency that has: 1) shown a consistent commitment to victims’ rights and services; 2) employed extraordinary efforts in the delivery of services; and 3) advocated for victims via policies, protocols, legislation and other measures.

Translate »