Division of Highway Traffic Safety

Division of Highway Traffic Safety Child Passenger Safety

Division of Highway Traffic Safety Child Passenger Safety

Introduction
Legislation – P.L. 2015, c.50

The following recommendations will provide the safest way to transport your child according to the American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Additionally it will ensure compliance to the New Jersey Child Passenger Restraint Law. (Title 39:3-76.2a)

Any child under the age of 8 years old and a height of 57 inches shall be secured as follows in the rear seat of a motor vehicle:

  1. A child under the age of 2 years and 30 pounds shall be secured in a rear-facing seat equipped with a 5-point harness.
  2. A child under the age of 4 years and 40 pounds shall be secured as described in (a) until they reach the upper limits of the rear-facing seat, then in a forward-facing child restraint equipped with a 5-point harness.
  3. A child under the age of 8 and a height of 57 inches shall be secured as described in (a) or (b) until they reach the upper limits of the rear-facing or forwardfacing seat, then in a belt positioning booster seat.
  4. A child over 8 years of age or 57 inches in height must be properly secured by a seat belt.

If there are no rear seats, the child shall be secured as described above in the front seat except that no child shall be secured in a rear-facing seat in the front seat of any vehicle that is equipped with an active passenger-side airbag. The aforementioned is acceptable if the airbag is de-activated.

 

Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Week

Did you know that three out of four child safety seats are improperly used or improperly installed in vehicles? During Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Week, parents and caregivers can receive free, educational information about this critical traffic safety issue.

This year’s CPS Week, will culminate with a series of special events on Saturday, September 21, 2019. On that day, known nationally as “Seat Check Saturday,” certified safety technicians will provide hands-on assistance at locations throughout the State related to proper child restraint use. All New Jerseyans who transport children in their vehicles are urged to stop by one of these locations for free, educational information on this critical issue. While the highest level of child restraint use both nationally and in New Jersey is for infants under one year of age, parents are reminded to take advantage of the information available from State agencies, local police departments and traffic safety organizations, as early as possible, to ensure they’re fully prepared when their new baby arrives, and for the years that follow. A list of Seat Check Saturday events locations can be found by clicking on this link.

To maximize child passenger safety, parents and caregivers should adhere to the following guidelines for determining which restraint system is best suited to protect children based on age and size:

  • For the best possible protection keep infants in the back seat, in rear-facing child safety seats, up to the height or weight limit of that particular seat.
  • When children outgrow their rear-facing seats they should ride in forward-facing child safety seats, in the back seat, until they reach the upper weight or height limit of the particular seat (usually around age 4 and 40 pounds.)
  • Once children outgrow their forward-facing seats (usually around age 4 and 40 pounds), they should ride in booster seats, in the back seat, until the vehicle seat belts fit properly. Seat belts fit properly when the lap belt lays across the upper thighs and the shoulder belt fits across the chest (usually when the child is at least 4′ 9″ tall)
  • When children outgrow their booster seats, they should be restrained in the seat belts in the back seat, until at least 13 years of age.
Note to Expectant Parents

Motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death of children over the age of six months in the United States. The proper use of child car seats is one of the simplest and most effective methods available for protecting the lives of our young children in the event of a motor vehicle crash.

However, 3 out of every 4 children in child safety seats are not properly secured, or even worse, not restrained at all. Only the correct use of child car seats will offer the protection your child needs. Please be aware of the facts listed on these Child Safety pages regarding the proper use of child car seats.

There are many different types of child car seats on the market today. Each one must meet federal standards and all provide good protection for your child when used correctly. The “right” seat for you is largely a matter of personal choice. Choose a seat that fits your child and your car, read the instructions carefully, and use the seat correctly on every trip.

Just as there are several types of Child Safety Seats, there are also several methods for securing these seats to a vehicle. Seat belt systems, lap belts or lap and shoulder belts are designed to be used for this purpose.

LATCH, which is an acronym for Lower Anchors and Tethers for Children, was designed to make installing child safety seats in vehicles easier. Nearly every car seat, and most vehicles manufactured since September 1, 2002 are required to have the LATCH system. For more information on LATCH including instructional videos, please click on the following link: LATCH

For a list of free Child Safety Seat Check events statewide, visit the Seat Check Schedule page.

For more information about the national Child Passenger Safety program, please visit the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) web page.

Note to Expectant Parents:Plan to have your child safety seat (infant seat) installed in your vehicle at least three weeks before the due date of your baby. By visiting the Seat Check Schedule page, and finding a nearby open event, or scheduling an appointment for at least three weeks prior to the due date, you’ll make sure that you’re ready for the big day. Most babies are delivered within the month surrounding the due date, so by including your child seat education three weeks before, the odds of being fully prepared on the birth day are enhanced.

Correct use is easy if you follow four steps:

  • Read the manufacturer’s instructions for your car seat.
  • Face the child safety seat in the proper direction
  • Infant seats always face backwards. Baby rides in a semi-reclining position facing the rear of the car.
  • Convertible seats face backwards in a semi-reclining position for infants under 30 pounds and under 2 year of age, and forward in an upright position for toddlers.
  • Secure your child snugly in the car seat.
  • Always buckle the seat’s harness system securely to hold your child safely in the seat. Allow no more than one finger-width of slack between your child’s collarbone and the harness strap.
  • Secure the child car seat with a seat belt.
  • Anchoring the seat properly with a seat belt is critical. A seat that is not buckled securely to the car can tip over, slide sideways or, in a crash, be ejected from the car.
  • Check your instruction manual to find out how to route the seat belt properly and fasten it tightly.
Seat Check Schedule

Atlantic County

Atlantic City Healthy Mothers/Healthy Babies Coalition
Call for available appointments: 609-345-6420

Atlantic County Child Safety Seat Check Event
held at Bennett Chevrolet – 6721 Black Horse Pike
Hours: 9am – 1pm, 2nd Saturday each month
For more information call: 609-641-0444

Atlantic County Child Safety Seat Check Event
Action Auto
14 12th Street, Hammonton
Hours: 9am – 1pm, 3rd Saturday of March, June, September and December
For more information call: 609-561-9633

Community Training Associates
465 Whitehorse Pike, Absecon
By appointment only
For appointment call: 609-277-3015

Bergen County

Bergen County Sheriff’s Department
327 E. Ridgewood Avenue, Paramus
Hours: 8am – 12pm, 1st Tuesday each month
By appointment only
For appointment email: ChildCarSeat@bcsd.us

Paramus Life Safety Complex
46 E. Century Road, Paramus
Hours: 9am – Noon; 3rd Friday each month
No appointment needed
For information email:
schoolandtrafficsafetyunit@gw.njsp.org

Burlington County

Burlington County Sheriff’s Department
49 Rancocas Road (side parking lot), Mount Holly
Hours: 10am – 2pm, Wednesdays
For more information call: 609-265-5221

Burlington County Sheriff’s Department
Child Safety Seat Checkpoints
For a list of weekend events that will take place this year please click on the following link: BCSD Checkpoints

Lakeside Collision CARSTAR
3233 Marne Highway
Mt. Laurel, NJ
By appointment only
For appointment call: 856-234-0174

Weisman Children’s Hospital
92 Brick Road, Marlton
Hours: 1pm – 3pm, 1st Tuesday each month
By appointment only
For appointment call: 856-489-4520 ext. 220

Camden County

Cherry Hill Fire Department
Deer Park Station
985 Cropwell Road, Cherry Hill
Hours: 9am – 12pm, 2nd Friday each month
No appointment needed
For more information call: 856-795-9805 ext. 1333

Cooper Hospital/Safe Kids Southern NJ
Cooper Hospital/Roberts Pavilion Entrance
1 Cooper Plaza, Camden
Hours: 10am – 12pm, 4th Wednesday each month
For more information call: 856-968-8687

Weisman Children’s Hospital
2475 McClellan Avenue, Pennsauken
Hours: 1pm – 3pm, 3rd Tuesday each month
By appointment only
For appointment call: 856-489-4520 ext. 220

Cape May County

Burke Motors – Cape May County Sheriff’s Office
Stone Harbor Blvd., Cape May Courthouse
Hours: 9am – Noon, 3rd Monday of each month

Cape May County Sheriff’s Office
Child Passenger Safety Program
1st and 3rd Monday of each month – by appointment only
Hours: 9am to Noon
Call for appointment: 609-463-6425

Cumberland County

Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office
Bridgeton
Weekdays by appointment only
Call for appointment/info: 856-451-4449 ext. 113

Millville Rescue Squad
600 Cedar Street, Millville
Hours: 9am – Noon, 1st Monday of each month
No appointment needed
For information email:
schoolandtrafficsafetyunit@gw.njsp.org

Essex County

Fairfield Fire Department
51 Plymouth St., Fairfield, NJ 07004
9am – 12pm, 1st Tuesday of month

Gloucester County

Gloucester County Sheriff’s Department
Gloucester County Store at the Deptford Mall
1750 Deptford Center Road, Deptford
Hours: 10am – 2pm, 1st and 3rd Saturday of each month
For more information call: 856-968-8687

Mantua Township Police Department
Sewell Fire House
155 E. Union Avenue, Sewell
Hours: 10am – 2pm, 2nd Saturday of each month
For more information call: 856-468-1920 or sjbutler@mantuatownship.com

Weisman Children’s Rehabilitation Center
405 Hurffville-Crosskeys Road, Suite 206, Sewell
Hours: 1pm – 3pm, 2nd Tuesday each month
By appointment only
For appointment call: 856-489-4520 ext. 220

Hudson County

Jersey City Medical Center EMS Building
415 Montgomery Avenue
Jersey City, NJ
– April through September: Thursdays
– October through March: 1st and 3rd Thursday of each month
No appointment needed
Hours:10am – 2pm
For more information call:
201-915-2906 or mfisher@libertyhcs.org

Hunterdon County

Hunterdon County Child Safety Seat Check
County Complex
314 State Rt 12, Flemington
Hours: 5pm – 8pm, 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month
For more information, call Detective Kelsey Marsh:
908-788-1129

Mercer County

Mercer County Sheriff’s Office
Child Passenger Safety Check
Colonial Fire Co., 801 Kuser Rd., Hamilton
Hours: 4:30pm – 8pm, last Tuesday each month*
*Not Available in December
For more information call: 609-278-7159

Princeton Healthcare System
West Windsor, NJ
Weekdays – seat check/education by appointment only
For more information and appointments: 888-897-8979

Middlesex County

Middlesex County Child Safety Seat Station on the Rutgers University Campus
129 Davidson Rd., Piscataway, NJ
Hours: 3pm – 7pm, Thursdays and 8:30am – Noon, Saturdays
For more information call: 848-932-7211

Monmouth County

New Jersey State Police
Child Passenger Safety Station
Jersey Shore University Medical Center
1945 NJ Route 33, Neptune
Hours: 3pm – 7pm, 1st Tuesday of each month
No appointment needed
For more information call: 732-776-4715

Monmouth County Sheriff Child Safety Seat Station
Monmouth County Garage
250 Center Street, Freehold
Hours: 3:30pm – 6:30pm
Dates: July 11, August 15 and September 19
No appointment needed
For more information call: 732-683-8811

Morris County

Denville Fire Department
St. Clare Hospital, 2 Indian Road, Denville 07834
10am – 1pm, 1st Monday of month

Florham Park Co. #1 Firehouse
Brooklake Road, Florham Park
Hours: 8am – Noon, 2nd Thursday of each month
For more information call 973-410-5437

Morris – Warren Child Safety Seat Education Station
Chester First Aid Squad
100 North Road, Chester NJ
(follow driveway to the Squad Building at rear)
Hours: 2pm – 6pm, 1st Tuesday of each month;
7am – Noon, 3rd Thursday of each month
For more information call: 908-879-5560

Mt. Tabor Volunteer Fire Department
72 S. Powder Mill Rd., Morris Plains, NJ 07950
Wednesdays, Sept – May, 9am – 3pm, and June, July, Aug. 9am – 1pm

Shade Tree Garage
171 Washington Street, Morristown
Hours: 8am – noon, 2nd Saturday of each month;
5pm – 8pm, 3rd Tuesday of each month
For more information call: 973-540-9880

Ocean County

Community Training Associates
101 Cayuga Lake Drive, Little Egg Harbor
By appointment only
For appointment call: 609-277-3015
Ocean County & Manchester Twp. Police Partnership
Child Passenger Safety Station
Ridgeway Fire Department
Route 571 Manchester, NJ 08759
Hours: 4pm – 8pm, 1st Wednesday of each month

Ocean County & Toms River Twp. Police Partnership
Child Passenger Safety Station
Silverton Firehouse -15 Kettle Creek Road, Toms River
Hours: 1pm – 5pm, 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month

Ocean County Sheriff’s Department
Child Passenger Safety Instruction – by appointment
For more information and appointments: 732-341-3451

Passaic County

Pompton Lakes First Aid Squad
700 Ramapo Ave., Pompton Lakes 07442
3rd Monday 4pm – 7pm

New Jersey State Police/Totowa Station
250 Minnisink Road, Totowa
Hours: 9am – Noon, every Thursday and the 2nd and 4th Saturday of each month
No appointment needed
For information call: 973-785-9412 ext. 4216

Salem County

Elmer Ambulance Corporation
30 Broad Street, Elmer
Hours: 9am – Noon, 3rd Monday of each month
No appointment needed
For information email:
schoolandtrafficsafetyunit@gw.njsp.org

Somerset County

Somerset County Child Safety Seat Station
Hillsborough Volunteer Fire Company #2,
375 Route 206 Hillsborough Township
Hours: 10am – 1:30pm, 1st Saturday of each month
Hours: 3pm – 6pm, 3rd Wednesday of each month
No appointment needed
For more information call 908-541-5709
or carseats@co.sommerset.nj.us

Sussex County

5 West Shore Trail
Sparta, NJ 07871
4th Monday 10am – 1pm

Sparta Ambulance Services, Inc.
14 Sparta Ave, N, Sparta Twp.
Hours: 10am – 1pm, 4th Monday each month
For more information call: 973-383-3377

Union County

Union County Child Safety Seat Station
Provided by the Union County Police Department
Garwood First Aid Squad
401 2nd Avenue, Garwood
Hours: 7:30am – 11am, Wednesdays and Thursdays
No appointment required
For more information call: 908-789-6830

Warren County

Morris – Warren Child Safety Seat Education Station
Chester First Aid Squad
100 North Road, Chester NJ
(follow driveway to the Squad Building at rear)
Hours: 2pm – 6pm, 1st Tuesday of each month;
7am – Noon, 3rd Thursday of each month
For more information call 908-879-5560

Find a NJ Child Passenger Safety Technician

Approximately 80% of all child safety seats are incorrectly installed and will not protect the child as intended during a crash, according to a study by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

The New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety (NJDHTS) schedules voluntary child seat checkpoints throughout New Jersey. At these checkpoints, certified child passenger safety technicians will examine the child seat and ensure that it is installed correctly. Any errors in installation will be pointed out and explained to the parent or guardian.

See the Seat Check Schedule area above or a statewide listing of events.

In addition to scheduled checkpoints, parents and guardians can contact their county’s child passenger safety coordinator for more information on Child Passenger Safety Activities or for help in setting up an event. Child Passenger Safety Technicians can contact the listed County coordinator for information on local training and re-certification activities.

Atlantic
Atlantic County Sheriff’s Dept. 609-909-7200

Bergen
Sgt. Alina Spies
NJ State Police 609-414-6513

Burlington
Jackie Moore
Burlington County Sheriff’s Office 609-265-5785

Camden
Maureen Donnelly
Cooper Medical Center 856-968-8687

Cape May
Sgt. Maureen Hagan
Cape May County Sheriff’s Office 609-465-6863

Cumberland
No County Contact at this time, please check back.

Essex
Patty Difillippo
Northern N.J. SafeKids 973-971-6477

Gloucester
Maureen Donnelly
Cooper Medical Center 856-968-8687

Hudson
Marissa Fisher
Jersey City Medical Center 201-915-2906

Hunterdon
Kelsey Marsh
Hunterdon County Prosecutor’s Office 908-788-1129

Mercer
Det. Joseph Armano
Mercer County Sheriff’s Dept. 609-529-6366

Middlesex
Diana Starace
Safe Kids Middlesex County
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital 732-418-8026

Monmouth
SFC Joan Bloom
N.J. State Police
609-882-2000 ext 6512

Morris
K. J. Feury
Northern N.J. SafeKids 973-971-4327

Ocean
June Farrington
Ocean County Sheriff’s Office 732-341-3451

Passaic
Sgt. James Sisto
N.J. State Police 973-758-9412 ext 8363

Salem
No County Contact at this time, please check back.

Somerset
Chris Rokicki
Somerset County Prosecutor’s Office 908-541-5023

Sussex
K. J. Feury
Northern N.J. SafeKids 973-971-4327

Union
Christine Marcantonio
Union County Traffic Safety 908-789-6830

Warren
K. J. Feury
Northern N.J. SafeKids 973-971-4327

CPS Training and Technical Resources

Safe Kids is the national certifying agency for Child Passenger Safety training. This page is a compilation of resources to help New Jersey’s Nationally Certified CPS Technicians obtain required Continuing Education Units (CEU’s) and retain their certification. Additionally, initial training and certification is addressed as a series of questions and answers.

CPS Technician Resources

Re-certification Requirements (44k pdf)
Need Help with the CPS Technician Re-Certification process?
Advisory on Airbags & Passenger Sensing Systems (15k pdf)

Initial CPS Training & Certification

What is the NHTSA Standardized CPS Training Program?

The 32 hour course (over 4 days, including a required public checkpoint) is taught through a combination of lectures, discussions of new issues, role playing and hands-on practice with both child safety seats and vehicle belt systems. Students should be prepared for the substantial physical activity needed to install safety seats. Students will take both written and hands-on tests, and participate in a “real world” CPS clinic or child safety seat check point.

If you would like to attend a course to become a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician, go to www.safekids.org/certification/, click on “Find a Course” on the right side of the page, then choose New Jersey from the list of states.

Why is there a need for training?

Child safety seat checkpoints routinely discover that eight out of ten children are not properly restrained in appropriate child safety seats or belt systems. Improper installation of child safety seats and/or misuse of the seats are the most common problems found.

Who should attend the training?

  • Health professionals, child care professionals and even conscientious parents
  • Police officers, fire and rescue personnel and child passenger safety advocates aspiring to become technically competent to participate in or conduct child safety seat clinics or education.
  • Experienced CPS professionals who want to advance their technical skills
  • Anyone involved in occupant protection who would like to learn more about child passenger safety.

The course emphasizes skills development in providing extensive hands-on assistance and instruction to the public.

In New Jersey, classes have been made up of primarily police officers, nurses, fire and rescue personnel, highway safety professionals, and health and medical professionals. In many cases the availability of funding for programs is dependant on having individuals on staff who have completed the training.

Translate »