Awards Information

2021 OAG Excellence Awards for Victims’ Justice
Nomination Deadline: April 1, 2021

Crime Victims’ Rights Award

The Crime Victims’ Rights Award reflects the 2021 National Crime Victims’ Rights Week theme: “Support Victims. Build Trust. Engage Communities.” This award will be presented to an individual whose actions capture the spirit of the theme –a pioneer in the victims’ rights movement, an activist who sought progress from pain, a visionary looking to further innovate, or any individual or agency striving to enhance the services provided to victims in this state.

Endurance Award

This award honors a Victim Witness Coordinator, advocate, and/or staff member who consistently sets the standard for excellence by going above and beyond to assist victims and prosecution teams. This award does not require decades of service but recognizes one’s perseverance in providing quality assistance to victims.

Gladiator Award

This award recognizes an Assistant Prosecutor or Detective who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment and zeal to ensure that the criminal justice system treats victims with compassion and dignity during the prosecution process.

Ronald W. Reagan Award

This award honors President Ronald W. Reagan for his compassion, vision and commitment to crime victims’ rights. President Reagan placed victims’ rights in the forefront of the national agenda during his administration, which resulted in the creation of National Crime Victims’ Rights Week, the President’s Task Force on Victims of Crime, the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, the Victim of Crime Act of 1984 (VOCA), and countless other initiatives. This Award will be presented to an individual or agency that has: 1) shown a consistent commitment to victims’ rights and services; 2) employed extraordinary efforts in the delivery of services; and 3) advocated for victims via policies, protocols, legislation and other measures.

Translate »